Direction

I’m a stay at home mom, with two children, both in school. 

Most days, I am home, staring at the walls. 

Don’t get me wrong, I like my freedom, but I crave productivity outside of my home. 

I have a job offer. 

Or, I could always go back to school…again. 

Or, I could stay home and be content. 

So, I was reading The Word, in hopes of finding a word. 

“As his body was taken away, the women from Galilee followed and saw the tomb where his body was placed. Then they went home and prepared spices and ointments to anoint his body. But by the time they were finished the Sabbath had begun, so they rested as required by the law.” Luke 23:55-56

I read this. I couldn’t figure out why it would stick out to me so much—but, it did. 

These were the same women that watched Him die on the cross. 

Can you imagine watching your Savior die and then have to WAIT to anoint His body due to some law about required resting? Really? 

Yes, really. That’s what happened. 

They endured speechlessness—because women had NO voice then. 

They couldn’t defend Him. Who would have listened? The Pharisees? Yeah, right. 

They endured watching His death (for you, by the way). 

Can you imagine pure devastation? Maybe you can. 

Then, the ONE job they could do to honor their Savior, they couldn’t do. 

They had to wait. 

The ONE thing they could do!

I would be so angry! I can visualize myself saying “I don’t care what the law is, that is JESUS and I’m going to anoint His body, even if they do throw me in jail”!!!!  

Funny, this law was originated by God YEARS before the coming of Christ:

“He (Moses) told them, “This is what the Lord commanded: Tomorrow will be a day of complete rest, a holy Sabbath day set apart for the Lord”…”  Exodus 16:23

So, God, from the beginning of time, KNEW these women would have to wait, to rest, to focus on the task at hand, to cease, to still…the day following the crucifixion. 

These two verses were my word that day. 

Why? 

I needed to know that those women endured. 

They prepared. 

They obeyed. 

They rested. 

And you know what? 

God honored them. They were first to see Jesus resurrected.  

 

 

Don’t focus on the things you cannot do. 

Focus on the things you can. 

 

Leave a Reply

