Granny

I wish I could rewrite her life.

I would write about her big, beautiful home, with the big garden in the back and in her home, she would have a long hallway, where all of her pictures would be displayed.

I would give her the same man, but make him more stable and nurturing.

I would give her the same son, but make him more responsible.

A dad, that didn’t abuse her.

I would give her blood that didn’t clot.

Instead of worry, I would give her joy.

Instead of sorrow, I would give her dancing.

Instead of fear, I would give her freedom.

Instead of negativity, I would give her thanksgiving.

I would give her an abundant life.

That’s what Jesus wants us to have.

John 10:10 says “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly”. Red letters.

The enemy steals our joy,

our dancing,

our freedom,

our thanksgiving,

our abundant life.

he steals to kill.

Abundance in Christ is eternal.

He offers you forgiveness, love, joy, peace, guidance.

I love the story of the prodigal son. My favorite part: “And while he was still a long way off, his father saw him coming” (Luke 15:20, NLT).

-his father was waiting on him

-he was looking for him

-he was scanning the horizon, in search of his son

“Filled with love and compassion, he ran to his son, embraced him, and kissed him”.

Jesus loves you.

He’s looking for you and He’s waiting for you.

Turn around. Right where you’re at.

Right in the middle of your doubt, your sin, your addiction, your pain, your fear, your sorrow.

One glimpse of you:

And He’ll run to meet you.

He’ll embrace you and kiss you.

That abundant life in Him, will be yours.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Granny

Leave a Reply

