Perks of the Military Life

Well, for us, anyway.

My husband and I grew up in the families God designed us to be in.

And both families were very poor.

Circumstances made us who we are and circumstances do not always have to carry on from one generation to the next…

But, moving on…

Having grown up in a small town, with an even smaller budget, I thought I had accepted my lot in life. I never aspired to get out of that small town, because hardly anyone ever did and if they did, they never came back (reminds me of a country song I once heard:).

But I fell in love with an active duty military guy on one of his visits back home. I visited him a few times where he was stationed and it didn’t take us long to get married, as separation was becoming NOT an option:)

We had a humble beginning, but that’s for another time.

In the 13 years we have been married, I have done and seen things this small town girl NEVER dreamed she would do!

I had accepted my fate—but my fate changed!

I have seen landscapes all across this great nation!

I have graduated three times from two different universities!

I have been skydiving!

I have been rocky mountain climbing!

(Gah! Another country song:)

I have met people from all over the world!

I have been out of my comfort zone so many times, it’s crazy!

I have seen the Statue of Liberty!

I have seen the waves of the North Shore!

I have been to Disneyland! (Maybe not a big deal to you, but for this grown child, it was a HUGE deal) šŸ™‚

These are not enough though.

Being a military wife has also benefited me with these perks as well:

I have learned how to pray.

I have learned how to lean NOT on my own understanding.

I have learned to trust God.

I have learned that He is in control.

I have learned to fear not (still learning that).

I have learned patience.

I have felt peace that has surpassed all understanding.

I have called on the name of the Lord.

I have cried out and He has heard me!

Y’all, it’s been amazing!

Sometimes it’s tough and sometimes it sucks, but it’s a good life.

I choose to focus on the good stuff.

I thank GOD for this life He has given us.

I thank GOD for our military and it’s “perks”.

Amen.

 

3 thoughts on “Perks of the Military Life

  1. What a beautiful post!! It’s so easy as a milspouse to focus on the bad parts of military life. I think every milspouse should create a list of how the military life has improved her and her life! My number one would be falling in love with my Mr all over again in his dress blues…whew… šŸ˜‰

    1. Thank you!
      Dress blues make me swoon:) LOL!
      And any available opportunity my husband has to wear them, is strongly encouraged by me!!! hahaha!

Leave a Reply

