Reading

I read. 

Incessantly. 

My babies are at school all day and my military lifestyle affords me many late evenings alone, so the opportunity to read is always there. 

I read about a dozen books at a time and which book I pick up is determined by what mood I am in.  

Currently, I am reading:

Bill Johnson Dreaming With God

Bill Johnson When Heaven Invades Earth

Suzanne Collins Catching Fire 

Dr. Henry Cloud & Dr. Jay Townsend Boundaries: When to Say Yes, How to Say No, to Take Control of Your Life

Charles Dickens A Tale of Two Cities

Karen Armstrong A History of God

To name a few…

What are you reading? 

Ever read any life changing books? 

I have!!! 

William Young’s The Shack *totally changed my perspective of the love of God–which is a POWERFUL thing!!! 

Ann Voskamp 1000 gifts *taught me to find God’s gifts for us in the small things we take for granted and to be thankful for them! 

If you haven’t read either of these, I would strongly encourage you to give one a try! 

Have a great day! 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Reading

  1. I don’t know that any of the books I read are life changing.. actually, eh… I’m not sure. But I LOVE to read. It’s usually what I do in the evenings when I’m by myself or the husband is watching something I have no interest in. Currently reading Hardwired by Meredith Wild. First book in a 2 book series. Started the book Wednesday and will have it finished tonight 🙂

    After this series, I am starting Service by Marcus Luttrell. I’ve been stuck in a Military book rutt ever since I read Lone Survivor. Think I’ve read 5 or so military books since February – they are the only ones I choose to buy actual copies of so that I can pass them on to our children (whenever we decide to have them). All the rest I just download to my iPad. 🙂

    1. I don’t know if I could read any military books…:/ I think I get too emotional! LOL! Reading is seriously my favorite! I have 3 books right now in my huge purse that I carry around all the time and depending on my mood, I will pick which book suits. ALSO, I have only read ONE book through to completion on my iPad…I loved the book, but hated not holding it in my hand. Which, I guess I’m going to have to get over! haha! An iPad would be a lot easier to carry around verses the three books I carry…

      1. Oh yes, I am a bawl bag anytime I read a military book. I think that’s why I was an utter mess when we went to watch Lone Survivor – got to know the characters so well in the book.

        LOL I have NO clue how you read 3 books at once. That would confuse me more than I could imagine. But I do agree with you on the iPad thing. I have gotten used to it I suppose, but I REFUSE to read a magazine on my iPad. It just feels so much better holding one! haha

      2. My three books are all different types: one counseling book (because that’s my profession), one Bible study book, and then one fun book (Mockingjay). I couldn’t keep up with three story books! LOL! You’re right! That would be totally confusing!!! I have got to hurry up and get through the Hunger Games. My son has been on me about it forever!!!

Leave a Reply

