Create in Me

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away, from thy presence. And take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of my salvation and renew a right spirit within me.” 

Psalms 51:10-12

Keith Green sang these verses. 

I remember singing these verses throughout my childhood. 

My earliest memories involve singing, but not really singing: 

Praising! 

I grew up in a family that LOVED singing and sang every time we were together. 

My Mamaw would be at the piano playing and all us girls would gather round. 

Praising!

Sheltered In The Arms of God. 

We sang at home. 

We sang in the car. 

All the time and anywhere, I sang. 

I would pick out notes on the piano and play. 

And sing. 

Always. 

I love to sing. 

It was my passion. 

It was Well With My Soul. 

And I miss it. 

I miss the joy of it. 

Not because it’s become a task, on the contrary…it has not. 

I miss it because I lost my passion. 

I lost it. 

Somewhere, in the midst of living, I lost it. 

Where I use to sing, I do not. 

Quietness surrounds and I think “why am I not singing?”

I use to always sing.

Now? Nothing. 

I’ve been robbed. 

And what’s worse: I let myself be robbed. 

But I found something…a reminder, a passage…

Fan into flames…

Stir it up…

Lord, stir it up! Fan it into flames!!! 

That passion I had for you, stir it up! 

Passion = FIRE IN THE BELLY!!! 

Stir it up! 

And so I will fight

I will pursue

That passion, that fire in the belly, that praise! 

Have you lost your too? 

Have you been robbed? 

Think back. 

What moved you when you were younger? 

What stirred up that passion? 

Start seeking. 

Find it. 

Renew it. 

And pursue it.

With all your heart. 

Leave a Reply

